| home |

| africa | america | asia | east asia | europe | oceania | south east asia |

| commemorative | hybrid | POLYMER | australia |

| a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | x | y | z |

looking for; - new issues only

no borrowed scans used here unless otherwise stated

01 September, 2019

Samoa - T$10 XVI Pacific Games 2019 from 07.07.2019 - 20.07.2019

Malo Saʻoloto Tutoʻatasi o Sāmoa
Independent State of Samoa

Central Bank of Samoa

This is a ten tala polymer note issued on 24.06.2019 celebrating the XVI Pacific Game held in Apai Samoa between 07.07.2019 to 20.07.2019. This event comprises of 26 sports* with 23 Pacific Game Association member countries and territories including Australia and New Zealand. About 3,500 athletes participated in these games.

This event was originally awarded to Nuku'alofa Tonga in 2012 but later withdrew on 15.05.2017 amid concerning the country could face economic difficulties if it had proceeded. Following Tonga's withdrawal, three pacific nations submitted their bids, namely Guam, Samoa and French Polynesia (Tahiti), with Apai Samoa as the winner.

The Pacific Games (previously known as the South Pacific Games) first started in 1963 and occur every 4 years. Suva Fiji held the first game with 10 games and only 13 nations participated (without Australia or New Zealand). This is the 6th tournament under the new name since 1999.

Governor - Maiava Atalina Emma Ainuu-Enari

This is the first time Samoa had held this game since 2007 and the third time since it's inception. Samoa first hosted this tournament in 1983 and then in 2007.

The motto for this tournament is One in Spirit or Tasi I le Agaga in Samoan. The design of the note depicts the stories of daily life and the realisation of their sporting dreams. The note is also printed with the special prefix, PG/XVI denoting "XVI Pacific Game". The game logo is printed on the see-through window.

The next Pacific Games will be held in Honiara in Solomon Islands. The last tournament was held in Papua New Guinea in 2015 and a 10 kina polymer was issued to celebrate this events. Prior to that Papua New Guinea also held this tournament in 1991 (2 kina polymer) and also issued a 5 kina commemorative paper note for this tournament in 2007. To date only Papua New Guinea and Samoa have issued such notes to commemorate the Pacific games.

Ten Tala (ZZ Replacement note)
Dated 2019
Ten Tala
Replacement Prefix
* the 22 sports are: -
Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Cricket, Football, Golf, Judo, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Outrigger Canoeing, Power Lifting, Rugby League Nines, Rugby Sevens, Sailing, Shooting, Squash, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Touch Rugby, Triathlon, Volleyball and Weightlifting.

New Caledonia won the most medals with 76 gold, 55 silver and 51 bronze (total 182), followed by Papua New Guinea 38/57/35 (130) and Samoa 38/42/45 (125). Every nation participated won at least one medal, and Tokelau as the winner of the wooden spoon with one bronze.

31 August, 2019

Mauritius - 2017 Reprints (Paper and Polymer)

Mauritius / Maurice
Bank of Mauritius

One Hundred Rupees (Paper)
Dated 2017, P56f
Five Hundred Rupees (Polymer)
Dated 2017, P66c

24 August, 2019

Papua New Guinea - 100 Kina APEC Commemorative 2018

Papua Niu Gini
Papua New Guinea

Bank of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea hosted the 2018 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum between 17-18 November 2018 in it's capital city, Port Moresby. A total of 21 nations in the Asia and Pacific region (Pacific Rim) attended this annual meeting. In addition to these, 13 leaders and representatives of the Pacific Island nations* in the Pacific region were also invited to this meeting. Whilst APEC meetings was first started in 1989 and was held in Canberra Australia, this is the first time the Papua New Guinea had hosted this event. The main purpose of APEC is to create greater prosperity among its members.

The current 21 members of APEC are - Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea (host 2018), Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United States and Vietnam. It has a combined population of 2.6 billion or more than one third of the world's population.

To commemorate this special event, the Bank of Papua New Guinea issued a 100 Kina ND2018. The design of the note is the same as the current 100 Kina polymer note but with the APEC logo added to the top right corner of the note. In addition to this, the main design has been slightly altered as follows; -

1) The height of the note has been reduced from 151mm x 75mm to 151mm x 71mm;
2) The two Birds of Paradise are now a see-through feature and golden rolling colour effect are also added around the see-through window on both side of the note.

The signatures on the note are - Loi Martin Bakani (Bank Governor) and Dairi Vele (Secretary, Department of Treasury). It should also be noted that Papua New Guinea has been releasing commemorative banknotes using existing or current designs since 1991.

This is the first time a commemorative banknote has been issued to commemorate this APEC meeting since 1989. The next APEC meeting will be held in Santiago Chile on 16-17 November 2019 and then in Malaysia in 2020. This will be Malaysia's second time hosting this forum.

One Hundred Kina
Note *
Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Nations in the Asia and Pacific region/rim who are not a member are: Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rico, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Macau, Nicaragua, North Korea and Panama. To be a member of APEC, the nation's geographical location needs to have a pacific border and situated between Asia and America. Other nations which does not share a common geographical location can still apply to be a member. Cambodia has applied to be a member of APEC and is awaiting for approval. India has also applied to be a member but was not successful. Other countries have also shown their interest in joining and they are Mongolia, Laos, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Costa Rica, Panama, Ecuador and Colombia.

01 August, 2019

Papua New Guinea - 2017 Prints

Papua Niu Gini
Papua New Guinea

Bank of Papua New Guinea

These are the two reprints of 2 and 50 Kina both dated (ND)2017. The design of these two notes are almost identical as those previously issued except for the followings; -

1) The size of these notes have been reduced as compared to previous issues. The 2 Kina is measured at 125mm x 70mm (previously 140mm x 70mm) and the 50 Kina is 146mm x 70mm (previously 151mm x 76mm). The first reduced size note was the 5 Kina printed with ND2016;
2) Most of the designs are also reduced slightly to accommodate the smaller sized note; and
3) The design on the 2 Kina top right corner has also altered with difference colour (see below comparison).
Previous design (ND2014)
Two Kina
Fifty Kina
Footnote: It is not sure if other denominations are also printed/issued with the 2017 year.

Related Posts with Thumbnails